07 September 2006

 

Antiperspirant / Deodorant Review: Certain Dri



Comments: It definitely is powerful and contains a heavy dose of aluminum chloride. If you need something really strong, this could be your answer. The product will be difficult to wash off and should be used sparingly (not many times a day).

Non-prescription (13% Aluminum Chloride solution). Could irritate.

Please note that antiperspirants don't work for everyone.

Rating: 8 out of 10 but only for those with more problematic perspiration problems

20 August 2006

 

Crocs are really, really comfortable


Ugly - no let's make that hideous - colourful and comfortable footwear… and I should emphasize the comfort. Being a bit fashion conscious, I was bit reluctant to try on a pair of Crocs but now I am a convert albeit only in the confines of my own office.

I first noticed Crocs at a footwear trade fair in Hong Kong where they seemed to stand out among all the competition. Curiosity got the better of me and I scoured the Internet for information about the company until I was sufficiently convinced that there might be something to this footwear.

Crocs are made of a soft-resin, with a heel cup and a T-bar for wearing comfort. Most models contain a number of large perforated holes for breathing. Moreover, the footwear is treated with an antimicrobial substance which should inhibit the spread of odour-causing bacteria and fungal infections.

Not sure how to rate this footwear but I will give it an 8 out of 10 for superior comfort and breathability.

18 August 2006

 

No sweat: New treatment helps patients stay dry

Key points
  • 8 million people in the U.S. suffer from hyperhidrosis (excess swating)
  • In extreme cases it can cause the skin to crack, bleed and swell
  • Treatments: Mild - Antiperspirant over feet and body; Medium - Botox or iontophoresis (stimulating it with an electrical current); Severe - Surgery to cut the nerves affecting the sweat glands
  • Surgery to cut nerve wiring to sweat glands (sympathectomy) causes possible side effects such as nerve damage that leads to droopy eyes, etc.
  • New treatment is a sympathectomy without surgery but instead with needles and chemicals in pinpointed locations determined by X-Ray
  • Patient in article was sweat-free in a matter of hours

14 August 2006

 

How breathable is footwear really?

Seriously... If you look at the amount of sweat you generate on your feet when you run or exercise, one has to wonder how much regular leather footwear actually breaths.

Sure leather is better than the synthetic materials, but try comparing a pair of sandals to a pair of leather sneakers when you are not wearing socks.

It is no surprise then that MORE breathable footwear like Geox and Rockport's Kinetic Air Circulator are starting to hit the shelves.

In the coming weeks, I will seek to de reviews on:
  • Crocs
  • StoneFly
  • Adidas ClimaCool

 

Mosquitos and Sweat

Did you know that your sweat attracts mosquitos? Increasingly, research is finding that mosquitos use the smell of sweat to zero in on their human prey.

Moreover, mosquitos tend to fare best in humid and hot climates requiring water to multiply. Unfortunately for some of us, these are the same areas where people tend to sweat the most.

--------------------

Personally I swell like crazy (look somewhat mutilated) every time I get bitten by a mosquito so I wish there was some way to rid the world of these pests... but that is just the vengeful part of me speaking. If we actually succeeded in wiping mosquitos out, I'm not sure what it would do for the Ecosystem.

But then again... we have messed up the ecosystem already, what's a little more???

12 August 2006

 

Does deodorant / antiperspirant really cause cancer?

Basis for argument: http://www.cosmeticsdesign-europe.com/news/ng.asp?id=66222-dedorant-aluminum-salts-ctfa

The debate continues...

Many antiperspirants or deodorants use an ingredient called Aluminum Sulfate, or other molecules comprising aluminum.

Ongoing research has found a possible association between a high exposure to aluminum and occurrences of cancer, however it should be noted that there is insufficient evidence to make a conclusion at this point.

As for the very act of blocking the sweating process causing cancer? We know that sweat helps the body detoxify, but there are other ways that the body rids itself of toxins... i.e., there is no overwhelming evidence to prove this theory

11 August 2006

 

An Old story: Male perspiration may relax women: study

An old article from 2003 that I came across... The topic hasn't be covered on this blog so I thought it might be interesting

Key tidbits:
  • An underarm extract taken from men who had bathed with fragrant-free soap and not used deodorant for 4 weeks
  • women who smelt extract rated their feeling as more relaxed than those who smelt a placebo
  • blood tests showed a shift in the levels of luteinizing hormones in those who had been subject to the underarm extract

There is a lot of scientific research that looks at the role of sweat in attraction, so the findings are not too surprising.


10 August 2006

 

Does Sweat Deserve a Bad Reputation? -- Russell Athletic Sweatxpert Investigates

Interesting overview of the benefits of sweat.

Key points:
  • During even moderate exercise, body temperature would increase at a rate of one degree Celsius every six to seven minutes without sweating
  • During exercise, body can lose more than two liters of sweat per hour
  • Highest densities of eccrine sweat glands are found on the palms of the hands and soles of the feet

 

Reposted due to formatting issues: Why Diabetics should worry about Sweaty Feet

Please note that I am not a physician or podiatrist and that the following information is from my personal research.

According to the International Diabetes Federation’s position statement on the diabetic foot:

Every 30 seconds a leg is lost to diabetes somewhere in the world

Extensive epidemiological surveys have indicated that between 40% and 70% of all lower extremity amputations are related to diabetes. This means that every 30 seconds a lower limb is lost to diabetes. The vast majority (85%) of all diabetes-related amputations are preceded by foot ulcers.

According to an article by the Canadian Diabetes Association entitled Complications: Footcare & The Trouble with Ulcers : 14-24% of those persons with diabetes and foot ulcers will require amputation.

--------------------------------
SWEATY FEET ARE A LEADING CAUSE OF BLISTERS AND AS A RESULT... ULCERS

 

Shoe Review: Mizuno InterCool












For those who are unfamiliar with it... Mizuno is a Japanese brand of sporting equipment and apparel. Founded in 1906, the company focuses on such sports as: baseball, golf, volleyball, and badminton to name a few.


Mizuno’s entry into the breathable footwear market is a ventilated athletic shoe, branded with the Intercool technology moniker. Mizuno Intercool footwear features a few large holes at the bottom of the shoe coupled with a perforated insole. It is often branded in conjunction with Mizuno’s InterWave technology and so there is little mention of the Intercool technology on the shoe itself.


Product Trial:

I did a half hour on the treadmill with it and it seems to make quite a difference. My socks were about half as damp as usual after a trip to the gym. However, it should be noted that the shoe is NOT waterproof - a big factor if you want to bring it outside.

Rating: 6.5 out of 10. Cools better than a regular shoe and Geox so you should perspire less, but loses points because a run through a puddle will leave you wet.

09 August 2006

 

Antiperspirant / Deodorant Review: Magic-Ice



It comes in a box of 3 separate cotton wipes individually packed.









The product claims the following:

"Magic-ice is a deodorant and antiperspirant based on an ancient Chinese formula, manufactured through modern technology. The deodorant can eliminate all kinds of body odour, including underarm odour, feet odour and excessive sweating. Within 3 seconds after application the odour will disappear. Its effect lasts more than seven days, for adolescents the effect lasts for one or two months. It would not be washed away. "


Product Trial:

Unfortunately I have only found it in Hong Kong at this time but upon my first trial of the product it seems to work almost instantaneously, which I admit was a bit scary. Applied to my underarms, the dampness there seemed to disappear almost right away and hasn't returned for hours even in the humidity of summer.

I am not sure not sweating for so long is good for me, but the product certainly seems to be effective in cutting out the sweat.

Rating: 8 out of 10. I will up the rating if it actually lasts one week.


Contact Info for Sole Agent:
Master Link Int'l Development Ltd.
Tel: (852) 2947 7717 - 852 is the country code for Hong Kong

 

MetCafe: Smelly Feet Video (Prank)


Smelly Feet - video powered by Metacafe

08 August 2006

 

Article: HYDRATION GUIDE: Drink up

An article about the dos and don'ts of rehydrating after exercise (to avoid heatstroke and other heat-induced conditions):

Key points:
  • Don't wait until you are thirsty
  • Drink before, during and after practise
  • Signs of dehydration: dizziness, loss of coordination, headaches, poor performance

Also possesses a list of actions to take should you succumb to a heat-induced condition. For parents this could be good to print out.


 

Article: Diabetes takes toll, but victims can help selves

An article about a poor guy who suffered from Type 2 diabetes and had his foot amputed after an infection. The article claims that "More than 329,000 Wisconsin adults - about 7.8 percent of the total - suffered from diabetes in 2005."

 

Powder Review: Zeasorb Super Absorbent Antifungal Powder



Medicated powder that absorbs sweat and treats fungal diseases such as Athlete's Foot, Ringworm and Jock Itch

Ingredients: Contains: Miconazole Nitrate (2%), Aldioxa, Carbohydrate Acrylic Copolymer, Chloroxylenol, Fragrance, Imidurea, Microporous Cellulose, Talc

Comments: A good, well-rounded foot powder. Miconazole Nitrate serves as an antifungal which destroys the fungi as well as some types of bacteria, Chloroxylenol is a good antimicrobial while Talc is useful as a sweat absorber.

Rating: 7 out of 10. A solid all-round performer.

 

Comments: Under Armour HeatGear

Under Armour has become a new supplier for the NFL. It's branded products include HeatGear(R), a technology that siphons sweat away from the body and onto the surface of the fabric so it can evaporate faster and cool the body.

It serves quite a useful purpose in performance wear and it works.

 

Article: U.S. Troops Endure 125 Degrees in Iraq

Whether you support the ongoing war in Iraq or not... it is hard not to be sympathetic to the conditions that U.S. soldiers face in their daily battle. One of them is heat - smoldering heat.

The AP article states: "For infantrymen, the sweat rarely stops flowing in the summer, leaving many with heat rash."

Definition:

Heat rash - a itchy, prickly sensation caused by excessive perspiration which is usually induced by very hot environments. The perspiration is blocked, many times through damaged cells in the skin, which causes for it to build up below the surface of the skin and cause pimple-like bumps. Eventually these bumps burst and this causes the prickly sensation...


Interestingly, the article ends with a quote from one soldier: "Changing your socks is important. Change them everyday whether you're on patrols or not."

07 August 2006

 

Shoe Review: Geox Respira


Geox Breathes

Geox is the incumbent in the market for breathable footwear. Its footwear features a perforated sole with a membrane situated above the outsole that is impervious to water droplets but allows water vapour to pass through.

This Italian shoe brand is now one of the largest in the world but How do its products fare???

While Geox's technology does work, the level of heat and sweat it allows to dissipate through the sole of the shoe is minimal at best. For heavy sweaters though, it does make a worth-while difference.

Unfortunately, however, Geox shoes are NOT the most comfortable. The insole is particularly thin as to facilitate a water vapour (sweat) exchange with its outside environment. As a result, wearers often complain that there is insufficient padding.

Rating: 6.5 out of 10. Better than regular shoes, but not great.

 

Powder Review: Odor-Eater's with Zorbitex

Odor-Eater's Foot Powder with Zorbitex Technology
  • Odour masking and sweat absorbing powder

Ingredients: Zea Mays Starch Corn, Sodium Bicarbonate, Starch/Acrylates/Acrylamide Copolymer, Tricalcium Phosphate, Benzethonium Chloride, Fragrance

Comments: A basic product that helps prevent against foot odor. Benzethonium Chloride helps inhibit bacteria spread, Starch absorbs the sweat, Sodium Bicarbonate (aka Baking Soda) neutralizes odour and the Fragrance masks any residual smells.

6 out of 10: Solid choice if you do not need antifungal properties

31 July 2006

 

What is sweat?

Sweat is NOT ALL bad. Quite the contrary, sweating is a normal bodily mechanism that helps protect the body from overheating. It also helps dispel the body of contaminents thus filling a necessary role in day to day life.

But while sweat has its good pionts, most people react poorly to the pungent odour it creates; or perhaps to some of the various ailments that it causes or promotes; among them:
  • Fungal Diseases
  • Bacterial Diseases
  • Warts
  • Blisters

Recent links:

http://english.donga.com/srv/service.php3?bicode=130000&biid=2006072467328

http://www.canada.com/topics/bodyandhealth/story.html?id=9e069d1c-339e-43ae-8265-fdae57e845f1&k=54266

http://www.pensacolanewsjournal.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20060713/LIFE/607130310/1004


 

The Birth of this Blog

I've been searching through the Internet looking for a good resource on the sort of products that would help a fellow or gal deal with the problem of sweat with a special emphasis on sweaty feet.

Sure, there is tonnes of marketing material out there advertising the latest this and that. But the tedious nature in which I had to sort through the info and the lack thereof of actual information made the endeavour a very difficult task.

I mean what actually works???

So I've decided to start my own blog on what I feel are the best products out there and why. Feel free to drop in your comments and hopefully we can start a lively discussion.

P.S., There will be a little bias when it comes to discussions on breathable footwear (e.g., Geox, Adidas, etc.) but I will explain that later.

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?